for the long weekend, jake and i went out to the family farm, which was lovely. there was much sitting about in the sun, reading. and walking about the farm in the sun. and driving around in the sun with the windows open to get the lovely breeze. you may not be surprised to learn that as a result of all of this sun, i got a sun burn! my first in years. but i do not repent, the sun was gorgeous. in fact, i was so busy being caught in the moment that i never once pulled out my camera. not at the roadside farmer’s market where i got my first whiff of warm peaches this summer (that may well be one of my favorite scents). not at the old stone church turned stone market, where i met a friendly orange cat. not in the gorgeous wild flower filled hills on the farm. not in picturesque galena… my camera was with me the entire time, adding weight to my purse, and yet… and yet! oh well!

there was no neglect of yarny things. a stop at the fold on the way out left my wallet a little lighter, and my arms heavy with wool!

plans...

i found a gorgeous and inspiring sock yarn from kraemer, natural skeins in ‘jeannie’, and the book toe-up socks for every body (rav link to book) by wendy d. johnson. i love so many of the patterns in this book, but the sanquhar pattern just demands to be made first. so i went in search of a contrasting color for jeannie, and found a skein of madelinetosh sock in ‘iris’ at my lys. i am very very excited!

i will start those as soon as i finish up this:

lace ribbon

which should be practically any minute now. i took this picture just over a week ago, and i had maybe ten inches, which i’d kind of been slowly working away at. but the relaxing weekend called for an undemanding knit, and this answered nicely. you are looking at the lace ribbon scarf knit in noro silk garden sock, by the by. and hopefully soon you will looking at it as an FO!

