FO: my mysterious oceanic soul

FO: my mysterious oceanic soul <–ravelry project page

pattern: raglan seamless sweater by elizabeth zimmermann from knitting workshop. though it’s also published in the opinionated knitter, which i also own. so it was a pretty arbitrary decision.
yarn: berroco ultra alpaca fine in turquoise mix, around 2.5 skeins, or 1100ish yards.
needles: US size 2’s, or 2.75 mms

FO: my mysterious oceanic soul

other details: since the pattern is really more of a… recipe, or loose equation, it’s very easy to modify it in almost any way. i chose three quarter length sleeves and a v-neck. i meant for the v-neck to be a little more plunging, but it can be hard to tell where it’s gonna end up. i split the knitting for the neckline about an inch or two above where i connected the sleeves, if that helps anyone. i did some shaping to bring it in for my waist, since i fall firmly into the category popularly known as ‘pear-shaped’, but i didn’t add any bust shaping.

FO: my mysterious oceanic soul

ah, this sweater… it only took me two years to complete it! that’s a fairly inaccurate view of it, though.

i have a problem where i will fall in love with a knit, and forge ahead into making it without ever stopping to think if the finished product would suit me. do any of you guys do that? or impulse purchase something aesthetically pleasing only to bring it home and think ‘apple green corduroy pea-coat, you have no place in my wardrobe!’ (true story) anyways, that is the origin story of this sweater. i saw the plain and simple pullover by veera and thought ‘cute!’, and cast on. it wasn’t until i’d already swatched, done loads and loads of math, and knit up a skeins worth of body that i thought, ‘wait! is this something i can see myself wearing?’ and the answer was, of course ‘no.’ i desire sleeves more than a voluminous neck for my warmth needs. and the shaping of this would make me feel frumpy in my body type. i’ll leave it to the lithe types.

so it got shelved for around a year and a half while i mulled over what to do about it, before finally settling on the seamless raglan sweater.

FO: my mysterious oceanic soul

the sweater has been done for several weeks now, but we’ve also been in the middle of the hottest summer on record for several weeks (classic eliza- cut my hair short in the winter, grow it out in the summer, finish woolly sweaters in july and silky camisoles in february. i’m nothing if not contrary. i always desire ice cream around the first snow, too.), but in the last week it has finally dipped to a reasonable temperature outside,so i was able to take FO shots without being hospitalized for heat stroke! whew.

