12/15

12/15

12/15

12/15

12/15

crewcuts chambray – j crew belt – anthropologie skirt – thrifted shoes, purse

eons ago, when i was young, i decided i ought to be an artist. and i thought, this is more than a someday dream, this is something i need to be working on immediately. i began my training. i thought that to be an artist, i needed to be able to find the beauty in anything. anything i could see must have some beauty, it was all a matter of perspective. so i began training myself to look for beauty all around me. i’m not sure where i came up with this idea. knowing me, it was probably gleaned from a novel.

later, i went to art school, where any thought of being an artist was dashed to the ground and walked over by hundreds of uncaring pedestrians. i’m still working on regaining my previous joy in art, in drawing and painting and creation. but something that started long before that has continued on, unheeding of my own drama’s with ‘art’. my habit of looking for the beauty in things clings on to me, and i really find it a useful tool to this day, even though i’m not the artist i set out to be so long ago.

this anecdote has absolutely nothing to do with this outfit. it was just something i’ve been thinking about today.

tell me about something beautiful in your world!

