Let’s talk sweaters, guys. I’ve got an itch. I want to start a sweater, but I can’t decide which one! Let’s look at options, hey?

I’ve got this beautiful angora/wool/cashmere blend that I bought at Loop in London. DK weight, 1488 yds. At the moment I’m fairly in love with the idea of Sous sous by Norah Gaughin for this yarn.

I would probably omit the hi-lo hem, because with it, I think this will get kind of dated. Without it, this is timeless. A little wide, lending drape to a textured sweater with a lovely center focal piece.

Untitled

Queensland Collection Kathmandu. Technically DK, but knits up like worsted, 1323 yds. I’m thinking Tinder for this one:


Speaking of Brooklyn Tweed, I’ve had these two colors of Loft for almost 3 years now with the same idea all this time. I want to recreate my favorite j crew breton, in sweater form. Here it is from before it was toooo dead to wear in public:

27secret-garden

Boat neck, hip length, three quarter sleeves, gentle drapey a-line. Total Classic. Yup, capital ‘C’. I’d probably knit this flat, in pieces, and seam it together, using the original for measurements. The thing about this one is that I’ve never dealt with any patterns with sleeves like this… I’d have to be ready for a lot of trial and error to get this right, I think.

And finally, this vintage stash of Pingouin Confort made it’s way to me. Wool, acrylic, mohair. It’ll be long lasting. Probably won’t be my favorite to knit with, but it will be fine for wearing. Sport weight, somewhere in the arena of 1300 yards.

This yarn is allll set to recreate one of my very favorites:

Garment House’s Downton Sweater. So classic, so contemporary. I still feel swoony every time I look at this. Hers is a larger gauge, which I might be able to match with the yarn held double. Or I could leave it as is and make a more delicately gauged version of this sweater.

I’ll have the poll open for a week. Sunday, March 15 at midnight, we’ll see who the winner is!

 

At 60% (12) of the votes, the sea green Sous sous wins the vote! I’m just winding down on another project, so I should be casting on within the week!

